About us

The philosophy of the Krishna Consciousness Movement is based primarily on the Vaisnava Scriptures - the Bhagavad-Gita Srimad Bhagavatam and Chaitanya-Caritamrta. In the Bhagavad-Gita Lord Krishna explains:

dehino 'smin yatha dehe
kaumaram yauvanam jara
tatha dehantara-praptir
dhiras tatra na muhyati
(Bhagavad-Gita 2.13)

The Krishna Consciousness Movement is teaching the world that we are all eternal spiritual beings - part and parcel of the Supreme Personality of Godheadhead - Lord Sri Krishna and that it is our constitutional position to render service to the Lord. Shrila Prabhupada has therefore set up this International Society for Krishna Consciousness specifically for the purpose of facilitating the souls to perform pure devotional service to Lord Krishna and to associate with other devotees of the Lord.

[wc_tabgroup layout="box"]

[wc_tab title="Temple Programme"]guna1The Following Program is Held On a Daily Basis at the ISKCON Brisbane Temple:
4.30 am    Mangal Arati
5.00 am    Tulsi Arati
5.10 am     Group Chanting
7.00 am    Deity Greeting
7.10 am    Guru Puja & Kirtan
7.30 am    Srimad Bhagvatam Class
8.15 am    Breakfast


On Saturdays the evening program runs as follows :
5.30 pm Bhajans
6.00 pm Lecture
7.00 pm Gaura arati
7.30 pm Prasadam Feast[/wc_tab]

[wc_tab title="Temple History"]


The first ISKCON Temple in Brisbane was founded in 1972 at a rented house in Milton. The Temple moved on several occasions and was also located in St Lucia during the 1970?s.

In the mid 1980?s the devotees relocated to the present facility at 95 Bank Road, Graceville and the Temple has been situated there till August 2011.

The temple is situated now on 32 Jennifer St. Seventeen Mile Rocks

[/wc_tab][wc_tab title="Our worshipable Deities"]

Our worshipable Deities at ISKCON Brisbane are their Lordships Sri Sri Gaura Nitai.

These are the forms of Lord Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu and Lord Nityananda Prabhu who appeared on this earth five hundred years ago. Lord Chaitanya’s descent was predicted in the sastras. In the Srimad Bhagavatam it is said that in the age of Kali-yuga Lord Krishna will appear in a golden colour and He will be surrounded by His associates who will be His weapons in distributing the yuga dharma of the process of realization for the age – the sankirtan of the Holy Name of the Lord.

534712_10151064663090980_114339792_nThe Deities of Gaura-Nitai are made of five metals and they were carved here in Australia – in Melbourne in the 1970?s. For some time they were the resident Deities of the travelling bus program headed up by Sabhapati prabhu and they travelled all over Australia. They came to Brisbane in the 1980?s after being the original Deities on the New Govardhan Farm.

The Deities are worshiped with four bhoga offerings – which means offerings of foodstuffs every day. They have their first offering at 4.10 am in the morning where they are offered four different kinds of milk sweets prepared by the devotees as well as hot milk and tulasi leaves. The second offering is at
7.40 am where they are offered a full menu of rice, dhals, sabji, etc. The next offering is at 3.40 pm in the afternoon where they are offered two different kinds of milk sweets as well as well as four different kinds of fruits, prepared by the pujaris and then at 5.40 pm they are again offered a full prasadam meal of rice, dhal, sabji, etc. The final offering is just before they take rest at night at 8.30 pm and consists of condensed milk and chewing spices.